Solitaire – Casual Collection

A collection of my favorite Solitaire games built with Unity.

I’ve always been a fan of card games and how versatile a simple deck of cards can be. Solitaire in particular is a great way to pass some time. Whether on a flight or lounging around on a rainy Sunday, each game offers a new puzzle to be solved.

While everyone knows the basic Klondike version of Solitaire that’s been around for ages, most are not aware of the various variations that can challenge you in different ways and keep you engaged for longer periods of time without becoming monotonous.

As I’ve discovered these variations, I’ve naturally wanted them available on whatever device I am using. While many Solitaire games exist on various platforms, not many have all the variations that I enjoy, and most stray far enough away from physical game play (timers, artificial scores, tacky visuals and sound effects, ads, etc.) to become distracting and less enjoyable than the casual, cathartic play associated with handling a physical deck of cards.

So when I decided to learn the cross-platform Unity game engine, the first project that came to mind was a Solitaire game that contained all the variations I loved with gameplay as minimally distracting and close to real world play as possible.

Solitaire – Casual Collection is that project and is available now in the Windows Store.

The game offers the most popular versions of Solitaire for free including Klondike, Spider, FreeCell, Pyramid, and Tri Peaks with many more of my favorite variations available for a small in-app purchase. These other variations include Aces Up, Acme, Acme II, Agnes Bernauer, Australian Patience, Baker’s Dozen, Baker’s Game, Betsy Ross, Black Hole, Blockade, Busy Aces, Calculation, Congress, Deuces, Diplomat, Eagle Wing, Easthaven, Eight Off, Four Seasons, Fourteen Out, Penguin, Scorpion, Scorpion II, Sir Tommy, Strategy, Thirteens, Thumb and Pouch, Wasp, Whitehead, Yukon, and any others that I’m sure I will discover and add over time.

For all games, the cards and game layout are front and center with minimal distractions and several affordances to make gameplay feel as realistic as possible including high resolution and realistic graphics, realistic audio effects recorded from physical cards, and natural card selection and movement with drag and drop and tap-tap support.

The game is currently only available in the Windows Store, but building it with Unity means I can easily publish the game to other platforms if I choose. I’ve learned a lot about Unity game development with this project and it’s great to have something tangible to show for it that can be shared with others (and of course used for my own enjoyment).

If you’re a fan of Solitaire like me and would appreciate a more casual and realistic version with access to lots of fun variations, give Solitaire – Casual Collection a try. I hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

